I am Rev. Cassandra Anaya
Cassandra's photo
Psychic Intuitive Counselor,Spell and Ritual CasterI have been online since 1993 andit is my pleasure to serve you.

A Circle of Light, in conjunction with, presents:

What is Vedic Astrology?

The predictive and interpretive science of Vedic Astrology, also called Jyotish, offers timeless wisdom that takes into account a vast range of influences from the cosmos. An unbroken tradition of Vedic Astrology began many thousands of years ago in India when its principles flashed in the intuitive awareness of great “seers” or sages. Since then, astrologers or “jyotishis” have explored the detailed workings of this system and passed down their knowledge through the ages.

Unlike Western Astrology, the starting point of Vedic Astrology is star-based. This “sidereal” system looks at actual steller constellations as we see them from earth. (The “Tropical” system used by Western Astrology is based on a “fictional” zodiac rather than the one we see in the constellations. This zodiac turns or moves backwards in space as a function of time and takes as it starting point the location of the sun at the spring equinox.)

In Vedic Astrology, greater emphasis is placed upon the totality, including the ascendent, planetary placements and relationships, lordships, etc. Only when all parts are seen in terms of the whole can a balanced view be found. However for the sake of understanding one needs to have some appreciation of the parts. The chief parts are planets, constellations or signs, and houses.

Your Planets

The ancient sages saw a relationship between the movement of the planets and the ups and downs of human experience. Vedic Astrology explores these variations in order to help us anticipate challenges and comprehend their meaning.

Each of the nine planets used in Vedic Astrology is associated with particular qualities including malefic or benefic, strong or weak, and exalted or debilitated. The “nine” planets of Vedic Astrology are actually the seven visible planets Mercury through Saturn and two lunar nodes called “Rahu” and “Ketu” in Sanskrit. The software used by calculates all their influences. However the printouts avoid the jargon of the science, and rather provide the results in ordinary language.

Your Signs

The zodiac for Vedic Astrology is similar to that of Western with the 12 signs or constellations from Aries to Pisces. But rather than emphasizing Sun sign, Vedic Astrology uses the Ascendent sign, Moon sign, AND Sun Sign.

Your Houses

Horoscopes in Vedic Astrology have 12 houses, each of which covers a prescribed territory of influence. For example, the first house is on aspect of the chart used to examine physical traits, the seventh house partnerships, 10th house career, etc. Houses are like homes for the energies of various segments of our life. Astrologers study the placement of planets within these houses to study the balance of influences on the life of their clients. The Your Planets software does this automatically.

Want to exchange links with us? Click here

“Get your free report with image of your Vedic Astrology Horoscope or order your Detailed Report. We have assembled many top Vedic Astrologers to produce the most accurate, instant, and inexpensive Vedic Astrology Reading on the internet. Each report is generated individually and covers all aspects of life”.

animated heart
I send you love.

{ Psychic Reading } { Hypnosis } { Spells & Rituals } { Gift Certificates } { Angel Web Designing }
{ Angels } { Spiritual } { Metaphysical } { Special } { Guestbook } { Apply for Award } { Awards } { Join My WebRings } { WebRings } { Resources } { Links } { Contact } { Tell A Friend } { Freebies } { SITE MAP }

Scroll to Top